khrystleraineduste

Niggly, snickitey, precise and clear writing; I could get into that…

Posted on: March 8, 2014

  • In: Bellyachin' | Just Happy
  • Comments Off on Niggly, snickitey, precise and clear writing; I could get into that…

I got the best compliment I think I ever could have today; and yes, it’s probably gone and made my head swell up!

graphic credit: swelled head <http://www.staceyreid.com/news/?p=3616>

Bring on the world!

We are in the middle of negotiations for an office space (and to finally move things out of an over-stuffed; bursting at the seams home that was never meant to hold the contents of the hardware and lumber stores combined; along with three businesses…eseses…) Dare I hope some projects may actually get completed now?

Anyway, back to the compliment…

I like to think I am nothing, if not thorough; except for the time I sent out approx. 100-resumes with a cover letter ensuring I was/am “Thorough, focussed and contentious…” Funny how no one called back. I was/am mortified I missed that! And embarrassed as heck ’cause I can’t even consider re-applying to these companies on the off-chance someone will remember!

Okay, back to the compliment…

After many attempts to have a document sent in an editable form I finally spoke to the assistant and had the document minutes later. (Do you want to speak to the man in charge; or the woman who knows what’s going on?)

I then (headache and all, because, as you may know, contracts don’t care about YOU in the least) attacked the 9-pages with the fervour of a Cairn Terrier (or, my favourite, Cairn Terror…) pouncing upon a fresh rodent. I was surprised at how long it took and how much I found the original contract watered down and wimpy – to the point of feeling as if I were being tested to see if I was just a “bit of fluff” and not a serious business.

I read every article; sub-article; adjuncts; preface and spelling errors. (Gotta love a legal document that has spelling errors…) Still not convinced its enure instead of inure, but she assured me THAT mistake wasn’t. A mistake.

I disagreed with a fair chunk of the first draft and practically re-wrote the whole thing. (Esp. the part about paying $10 if we decided to walk away from the negotiations. Done laughing yet? I’m still giggling…) I fully expected a reprimand for messing up their perfectly written, common legal form. Now 13-pages; good thing I’m not superstitious, ‘eh? I didn’t really care. That’s why it’s called negotiations. I am not here to make YOU happy; I’m here to get the best deal for me.

Well, when she (the assistant – I think I scared her ‘boss’) called back this morning the first words out of her mouth were,

“Are you a lawyer?”

Yup; compliment received and flying high! Now deciding if a career diversion is in order… Law requires writing… copious amounts of writing. Niggly, snickitey, precise and clear writing; I could get into that…

I’ll deflate my head tomorrow, for today? I’m enjoying the view from above the clouds…
*hugs*
~khrys…

If you only read one thing after this – make it this:

 

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,660 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

