khrystleraineduste

Advertising on WordPress… or not…

Posted on: February 27, 2014


There’s a little (or BIG) box at the bottom that may or may not contain advertising – I really don’t know – I don’t control it. But when I clicked to find out what it was, this is the blurb shown:

~*~

The site you just visited is part of WordPress.com.
There are two reasons why you might see ads on a WordPress.com site:
The site is part of the WordAds program and has elected to show ads to earn money from their site.
The site is one of the sites hosted on WordPress.com that has not purchased the No Ads upgrade, and we are running ads to cover the costs of operating the site for the user. We run these types of ads sparingly in an attempt to interfere as little as possible with the experience of reading a site. There’s more info about our approach to ad serving in this blog post.
In both of the above cases, the ad you saw could be coming from a number of ad partners including, but not limited to: Sharethrough, Visible Measures, or AdSense. The ads change depending on factors like your location and the type of site you are visiting.
If you are a WordPress.com user and you would like to permanently remove all ads from your site, please take a look at our No Ads upgrade.
If you saw an inappropriate ad, please report it to support@wordpress.com. Please include the address of the site (e.g., http://example.wordpress.com), the date/time the ad appeared, and a screenshot of the ad.

~*~

Now, okay, I am in agreement. If I am not paying for the site, ads are a way for WordPress to help mitigate their costs hoping readers will press the advertisement they place below (HOPEFULLY) my content. Really though, what say do I have of where they place it or what it will promote?

I am already involved with another site that espouses so much rhetoric about how they do NOT want ‘inappropriate’ ANYTHING and yet, I have not seen one advertisement directed at me (because they say they are all algorithm’d to show ONLY what our interests are). What am I treated to on the sidebar of advertisements? Whores plying their trade. Or young Asian (insert nearly any ethnicity here) girls. Or sexual aids; ads to videos that of course I want to view – after all they are aimed directly to/for ME!

So, for one, I hope that these ads will be more tasteful and none that make me decide I shall have to remove my blog. No, I’m not a prude, but if I don’t ask to see it; or give an indication that it is within my interests, then, presumably it is not in my readers interests either. I could be wrong. I apologise if I am.

What prompted me to motion, though, is the hoops they (WordPress) expect you to jump through to report offensive advertisement.

I believe if WordPress is ALLOWING these ads then they’d better do some diligence in keeping records of which ad was placed with which blogger and when.

I feel that reporting an offensive advertisement should include the site it was viewed on, (that makes sense). You should include the day and approximate time you viewed it. But as for a screen shot? No offense but that is asking for a casual viewer to do WordPress’ work for them. They hired the ad; they took their money; they set up the rotation for them, chances are they already KNOW what ad is getting the complaints.

Anyway, sorry that you will be plagued by ads in that little square, (according to WP, ‘not often’), because I simply cannot afford to pay for a no-ad blog. And do please report offensive ads.

*hugs*
~khrys…

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,797 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

Seemingly random 'thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

