khrystleraineduste

Christmas Beacon…

Posted on: December 12, 2012


CHRISTMAS BEACON...

Now, I was gonna spout something pithy/pious about Christmas. I typed the title as it occurred to me, and, then, just cause it’s what I do, I ‘looked up’ “beacon”. (Maybe I was hoping it would lead me to the missing manuscript, I dunno.. – Oh, great! Now a new deliciously evil plot is lurking on the fringes of my brain… The Missing Manuscript…)

Aside from the normal meanings and thesaurus (anyone else wonder what a The Saurus was? I think it might have disappeared with the unicorns…) additions there was reference to a BELISHA BEACON.

Hmmm? thinks I, what is a ‘Belisha beacon’? (And how does it differ from a regular beacon?)

So, naturally this curious kitten clicks the link, (more curious than brains sometimes…)

Turns out a Belisha beacon is a sign at either end of a Zebra crossing, consisting of a flashing light inside a yellow-dome on top of a black-and-white striped pole… (source: Encarta Dictionary, UK)

My first question is a rather confused… “Huh?”

My second question, a little more articulate, is… “Do the Zebra’s know this?”

My third question, completely out of left field, is… “Why do I research this stuff???”

I have a cartoon vision of a train choo-chooing down the tracks, nearing the crossing and the little amber light starts blinking and the stampede, running from the Wile E. Coyote, breaks into two groups as half screech on their brakes stopping while the rest, already through the crossing, continue. The train chugs past and the lights stop blinking and the Zebras continue their fear filled flight…

Now, apparently I am the last person on the planet to know that a CROSSWALK is called a ZEBRA-CROSSING.

A CROSSWALK WITH said Yellow-Domed Poles is a BELISHA CROSSING. Which begs a WHOLE lot more questions that need answering (2-to be exact…ly wrong).

  • Who or what was Belisha?
  • What occurred that he/she/it were bestowed the honour of being singled out for name calling? (Me need coffee…)

For that matter, Crosswalk? Why not Acrosswalk, as in, they walked across. Or Walkacross? (Or RUN cause that car ain’t slowing down ACROSS!) Who decided crosswalk was the term? And is it any ‘better’ than Zebra/Belisha Crossing? (MHO: Yes… STILL don’t know who/what Belisha is/was…) 

 

Belisha BeaconOkay, I did a little (very little) more digging.) Britain’s Transport Minister (1934-1937) Leslie Hore-Belisha (1893-1957) was/is given the honour of having his name used. 

You can read an interesting brief recount of the history of the Belisha crossing here, along with lots of other goodies. Here is their home page.

Still I beleaguered-ly ask: What happened to Christmas???
Getting that coffee now…

*hugs*
luv khrys…

PS: Please forgive me Michelle… I didn’t stay any where NEAR one topic per paragraph… but I do appreciate it in ‘real’ writing…s… *smile*

BELISHA CROSSING PHOTO CREDIT: http://www.cbrd.co.uk/dictionary/

1 Response to "Christmas Beacon…"

Comments are closed.

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,735 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

