khrystleraineduste

For better or for worse…

Posted on: November 3, 2012


For better or for worse, I accepted the NANOMO Challenge. And I am REALLY going to try and complete it. Even if I have to put away my computer and lock up my hands; I will NOT write MORE than fifty-thousand words this month.

And, like New Year’s resolutions, this too shall come to fail.

It’s only day three. I didn’t decide to take part until around ten a.m. day one, November first. It took nearly the whole day to register. I read their history. I read whom they hired for proof-reading and I’m assuming she didn’t proof-read the blurbs in the history. No biggie.

Then I needed to choose a story line and get writing. ACK! I am already halfway through a novel, I am now supposed to set it aside and complete a novel, worthy of publication, in thirty-days?! The things we decide to do on the spur of the moment! We should have our heads examined! (Yes, I’m including YOU in the we…WE’VE all done it! Agreed to something that we wonder ‘WHY’ later on.)

So, relying on The Lord, intuition; coffee; memory (joke folks…only joking); and my fingers I have spewed over ten-thousand words already! (As of yesterday. This is while working full-time at two jobs; I set the third, writing, aside for the month. I am self-employed at all my jobs and the second I’ve decided to cut way back. The first, well it practically runs itself, so no issues there.)

And I am procrastinating, aren’t I?

At this pace, I’ll have four or five novels finished by the end of November! Or I’ll burn out before finishing the first. The problem is, words are easy. I really do have over ten-thousand started Thursday afternoon. But, even as I read them back, I have no IDEA where this story is going! My son laughed at me. “How can you write ten-thousand words and not say ANYTHING?”

It ain’t easy, let me tell you.

I have the bones. The issue: I usually know approximately, what the story is about by the time I’m into the second chapter. I’m in chapter four, and while I have set up a few scenarios that can play out, I don’t have an overall cohesive vision.

I feel like Paul while he was still Saul. Wandering blindly, following instructions from those more learned than myself. I just hope God doesn’t blast me with blindness so I can see! But, thy will be done. (but if I have a say…?)

I am trusting that the Spirit will show me what to write, and when it’s finished. (or, if like everything I write, it becomes a series, cause I don’t know when to shut up…)

Okay, the dogs got me up early and I’m still working on my first pot of coffee. I’ll keep you posted on how it’s going. Or where. Right now I haven’t even got a name! I filed it under “NoNameYet”. (I wonder if I can include this in my word count…? LOL)

So, for now, God bless…

*hugs*
luv khrys.

3 Responses to "For better or for worse…"

Hang in there. Rooting for you.

All I can say is KEEP IT PUSHIN, you will get there…!!!!

*hugs* so true… luv khrys…

Comments are closed.

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,797 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

Seemingly random 'thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

