khrystleraineduste

Lord, can you hurry up with the patience? I haven’t got all day…

Posted on: October 29, 2012


I wanted to bring you a devotion filled with insight and wisdom, backed up by scripture. (assuming I have any wisdom or insight!) But the search engine attached to the Bible site I use SUCKS! It can’t even find the Lord’s Prayer for cryin’ out loud!

It is useful ONLY to those who already KNOW what they are looking for or have THE scripture reference already. Forbid that you should know the subject but not the passage. A search for “The Lord’s Prayer” nets you ZERO results.

Really? Really??

Like I said their search engine sucks. Even the so called ‘topical’ search. ZERO RESULTS FOR THE LORD’S PRAYER. ZERO. Really? What topics ARE available? Ones I already KNOW the references for? What good is THAT? (Please forgive my sarcasm, Lord.)

I really hate to be negative about ANYTHING ANYONE does for the Lord. (Truly, FOR the Lord, and not their own self-serving purposes.) But this is frustrating me, and I KNOW the Bible; imagine someone who is just starting out on their walk with the Lord trying to navigate or locate passages – they would find frustration! Not what this site intended, I’m sure. Still, the best of intentions…

I know you can find what WE call ‘The Lord’s Prayer’ in Luke 11:2-4. But it is also found in Matthew 6:9-13. As well as illusions to it in Hannah’s prayer, 1 Samuel 2:1-10; and in ‘Mary’s Song’, Luke 1:46-55. Both of which follow the ‘mitre’ of the Lord’s Prayer.

Still, NOT ONE REFERENCE IN THE SEARCH ALLUDED TO “THE LORD’S PRAYER!” What WE would, naturally call it and begin our search with.

When I typed in ‘Lord, teach us how to pray.’ I was directed to Luke 11. With no further suggestions or guidance for ‘further reading or insight’.

I really must say, I was disappointed completely.

Because I know the Bible, and the stories residing therein, I KNOW that the Lord’s Prayer came about because the disciples asked. Someone just starting their introduction to the Bible might not. They may search in vain for the Lord’s Prayer, and give up in frustration, believing the lie Satan is whispering in their ear. Namely, “That if God wants you to read it, He would make it easy to find.” (I easily succumbed to that lie early in my walk…)

I cannot say how disappointed I am in this search. I can well imagine if I am frustrated, many many many others must also feel this frustration.

I don’t believe the Bible can ever be fully indexed and searched. Too many words are similar and found in nearly every passage. But CONCEPTS CAN be indexed. Especially since at least one of the Bibles they choose to represent has ‘topical headings’ (Or headings, like chapter titles, that were NEVER meant to be part of the Bible, merely guides to follow for new (& older) believers to help us understand what the actual topic of the passage is.)

Those ‘headings’ could be indexed and would aid in searching, and prevent thousands of passages appearing, when only one will really do.

I dislike starting my morning in frustration. I believe the Lord is helping my patience to grow. Unfortunately, right now, I’m not in the mood. (Probably not a wise move on my part, eh?) 

REFERENCES I FOUND FOR ‘PATIENCE’

(Although they all have the word patience, today I think Proverbs 19 suits my mood… and is probably where the Lord is guiding my thoughts. I shall dwell in its message; glean what the Holy Spirit is willing to impart and I am willing to absorb… Dear Lord, make me a sponge, able to soak up YOUR word and apply it richly to my life to honour You. In Jesus name. Amen.)

I’d like to find the exact scripture reference so I can put this (other) ‘devotion’ to rest and not spend all day wondering where it is. I have things that need to get done, and I feel that, while they are important, spending time in God’s presence is also important.

(Martha/Mary syndrome??) LUKE 10:38-42

As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

I need to discern if the Lord wants me to wait on His timing, or if He wants me to get on with my day and watch/listen for His timing. I NEED TO FIND THOSE REFERENCES!

I will persevere, unless someone removed the references when I turned my back, (which, I’m sure happens all the time!) I will locate and be humbled when I do find them. All in GOD’S timing, not mine – no matter how hard I push; beg or plead. Fortunately, God knows best… Second-guessing Him will only lead to…well, frustration!

Proverbs 19:2
It is not good to have zeal without knowledge,
    nor to be hasty and miss the way.

So, today I leave with a prayer that you will not be frustrated or discouraged as you search for ‘references’ in your life. I pray that God will open doors and windows and turn the lights up brightly so you are able to clearly see His message and follow His leading.

Lord thank you for the frustration and confusion. I know You have great plans to show Your glory. Lord bless those of us who are frustrated or discouraged in our walk with You. Watch over us and gently led us into understanding and wisdom in our wait. Guide us to the truth Father, and bless us with discernment. Teach us to be patient. Teach us to be still and HEAR Your words. Forgive us for our impatience; our blustering; our pushing forward without guidance. Help us to wait on You. In Jesus name. Amen.

*hugs*
luv khrys… 

PS: I STILL LOVE this site! The options for choosing versions of the Bible are awesome (even if, like me, you only choose one version) and comparing the scriptures among them led to a greater understanding of the words God intended. Along with the many many resources, this site provides to further your walk with the Lord; I would never ‘give-up’ on this website! Forgive me Lord as I expunge my frustrations aloud regarding this valuable resource You have certainly blessed. Can/Will you help them to make it more searchable please? In Jesus’ name. Amen.

PPS: I have to share. Before I post, I usually read what’s in my ‘reader’ and check comments and such. Today was no different. God is so gracious. This post from Work4Christ was waiting. I had to laugh and kick my own behind. God never waits long to rebuke, eh?

2 Responses to "Lord, can you hurry up with the patience? I haven’t got all day…"

[…] Lord, can you hurry up with the patience? I haven’t got all day… (khrystleraineduste.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,810 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

Seemingly random 'thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

