khrystleraineduste

“There’s no one to help me to the water…”

Posted on: October 22, 2012


Swirling waters

Swirling Waters

John 5:1-9a ~ Some time later, Jesus went up to Jerusalem for a feast of the Jews. Now there is in Jerusalem near the Sheep Gate a pool, which in Aramaic is called Bethesda and which is surrounded by five covered colonnades. Here a great number of disabled people used to lie — the blind, the lame, the paralyzed. One who was there had been an invalid for thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, “Do you want to get well?” “Sir,” the invalid replied, “I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred. While I am trying to get in, someone else goes down ahead of me.” Then Jesus said to him, “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk.” At once the man was cured; he picked up his mat and walked. (NIV translation; excerpted from BibleGateway) 

Tears-GreenAfter reading this today during my devotional, I burst into tears. How I have been like this invalid, not trusting God, but using excuse after excuse as to why the home we have chosen won’t work. (We are contemplating a move that will, hopefully, allow us to expand our business.)

“It costs too much. We’ll never swing the mortgage. We’ll never sell our home in time or for enough money! It’s so far from everyone. No one will come visit. We’ll have to re-grade the whole property. Clients won’t want to traverse the 600+ yard driveway. WHAT clients? We’ll have to start from scratch, rebuilding our business. It’s a big house, maybe too big? Doctors and hospitals are miles away. It’s in the COUNTRY! Farms surrounding it; with stinky moo-cows! The kids will not move with us. (Still trying to decide if that’s a good thing or not.)” And on…

“There’s no one to help me to the water…”

As I dried my tears (of joy) and nodded, “Okay Lord. Either we’re to trust and jump on this property like June-bugs or I’m completely missing the point.”

God reminded me that it’s not what I can see, (FAITH). And it’s not dependent on the septic system or the chimney. His Spirit gave me a kick in the butt and reminded me to stop making excuses. He reminded me to look at the potential.

“There’s a fence around the whole property. The house has two-levels, but easy, flat access to both. There is an enormous laundry room, (I really wanted a big laundry.) The layout of the house is perfect for our needs. The country roads are quiet and safe to ride a bike or walk a dog along. It’s only 2-minutes over paved, (ploughed in winter), roads from the HWY. (Convenient for our new clients.) A small city, doctors and shopping, are only ten-minutes drive away. We still have rural mail delivery! There is a huge growth-spurt and building-boom happening directly in line to be our clients. We can learn to farm, or at least keep chickens and a garden! Fresh milk, eggs, chickens and possibly beef and pork are only steps away. But, what keeps popping up, and is so important to me, there’s a church, five minutes west of the property that just happens to be my denomination. I have a feeling that’s where God is directing me. Or why this property keeps pulling at us.”

Now, He DID NOT give me any indication that our life will be EASY after this decision. In fact, I quite get the opposite indications. That we will have to work hard, but we will feel the reward of a hard day’s work, if you follow. I also don’t know if this is about to be a life lesson, but all lessons, everything we learn (or refuse to learn) is a life lesson. They all form and make us who (whom?) we are today, tomorrow and beyond.

PrayI covet your prayers for us, in deciding if this home is the right choice or if we’re hearing static and interruptions from the many commercials sent to distract us from hearing God’s voice. If you wouldn’t mind. *smile* Thank you.

*hugs*
luv khrys…

PS: Blessings and thanks for those who recently have found my blogs worthy of reposting… *warm hugs* (I’m not quite sure what has happened but I no longer have the option of adding posts or blogs from others again, I shall continue to look for what option I changed so that can be rectified soon…)

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,627 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Michelle Proulx -- The Website

Shameless self-promotion for my books, plus lots of awesome.

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

