khrystleraineduste

Learning ‘Toddler-ese’

Posted on: March 28, 2012


Learning ‘Toddler-ese’…

We were visiting my sister, (a regular occurrence, as our children were born 17 days apart), and we shooed the kids out into the yard to enjoy the frosty, February sunshine.

Peanut utter and Jam

Adams Peanut Butter and Jams...

An hour later, it was time to think about lunch and as the kids came in to use the bathroom, we asked them if they’d like ‘peanut butter ‘n jam’ sandwiches, normally a favourite.

My sister’s 3-year-old daughter shrugged and said “Sure!” as she headed back out to the jungle gym. My son however shook his head and announced he wanted a “wriggly sam-ich”.

“Excuse me?” He repeated it. We (my sister & I) looked at each other; “Huh?”

We started going through the list of sandwiches we were prepared to fix. “Tuna?”

Tuna, ham, cheese and eggs

Tuna? Ham? Egg? Cheese?

“No.”

“Ham?”

“No.”

“Egg?”

“No.”

“Just jam?”

“No.”

“Just peanut butter?”

“No.”

bread

Loaf of Bread...

We were perplexed. “Cheese!?”

“No.””What kind do you want?”

“A wriggly sam-ich!” (By now he was in tears; and we weren’t far behind. He wasn’t being cantankerous. He was really trying to tell us the kind he wanted, and couldn’t figure out why we didn’t understand.)

Gummie Worms

We were really concerned. A mutual friend’s toddler had eaten worms earlier. (Worms = Wriggly?)

“A wriggly sam-ich!?!” I thought and thought. I got him to repeat it two more times.

“Honey? Do you want a REALLY GOOD sandwich?”

“Yee-sss!” He cried, relief VERY evident (his AND ours!), as we hugged him, wiped his tears, and promised him that Auntie would make him the “very best ‘wriggly’ sam-ich ever!”
 
We could barely stand from laughing after he went back outside…

*giggling-hugs*…
luv khrys…

2 Responses to "Learning ‘Toddler-ese’"

Talk about “lost in translation”. Too cute (probably wasn’t so cute at the time). Thanks for sharing.

It was actually hilarious after we figure out what he was saying; we couldn’t stop laughing! He is one STRANGE kid… I’ve got a few more stories I’ll probably share someday…when he ain’t lookin’ lol

Comments are closed.

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 4,705 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey Books

Author of Thrillers: Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

Adriana Cortazzo

Intuitive Yoga Teacher

Glenda Mills

Hope That Doesn't Disappoint

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing, and other stuff I want to talk about

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

elizabethcori

My life in a few and not so few words

