khrystleraineduste

Follow up from yesterday…

Posted on: November 2, 2012


THE LORD’S PRAYER

Our Father (acknowledgement)
Who art in Heaven (belief)
Hallowed be Thy name (praise)
Thy kingdom come (anticipation)
Thine will be done (confirmation)
on earth as it is in Heaven (fairness)
Give us this day, our daily bread (thankfulness)
And forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors (forgiveness)
lead us not into temptation (direction)
but deliver us from evil (comfort)
for Thine is the kingdom (ownership)
the power, (ability)
and the Glory, (awesomeness)
forever, (NEVER ending)
Amen. (trust) 

This is “as we/the world” tends to say this prayer. Stuff in italics is my idea; sometimes I’m even right…*grin*. (How do YOU see them?)

I was taught by my pastor about ten-years ago, (something, again, you may or may not know; I didn’t), when you pray the Lord’s Prayer, it’s like a starting point. It is how Jesus taught us, but He didn’t intend (we don’t think) that we ‘rote-ly’ recite it.

Learn it. But, like a poem, learn the ‘parts’.

Our Father. My Lord; precious God. MY FATHER. (acknowledgement)

Who art in Heaven; Who did NOT ‘die’ but rose to Heaven and lives there watching, waiting, putting up with our shenanigans. (belief)

Hallowed be Thy name; Blessed be the name of the Lord. Take it not in vain. Hear it and respect it. (praise)

Thy kingdom come; Waiting for the coming, eagerly; expecting but not brooding that you’ve been good all week, do you really have to behave next week too? Your timing Lord, not mine. (anticipation)

Thine will be done; Not what we want, but what YOU know we NEED. (confirmation)

on earth as it is in Heaven; God will not play favourites, the ‘rules’ in Heaven apply to us on earth as well; God doesn’t play favourites; note, Satan was cast from Heaven. (fairness)

Give us this day, our daily bread We cannot provide our food. We cannot create meat, grains, fruits or vegetables. It is all provided for us. (thankfulness)

And forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors;Please don’t treat us as we deserve! Help us to truly forgive and forget the actions of those who hurt, anger, annoy, frustrate, belittle, cheat, lie, destroy… Help us to love them and ask for their hearts to be changed so they can know forgiveness themselves. For whatever measure we use to judge another, it will be used for us. (forgiveness)

lead us not into temptation; Help us to follow you Lord and not our own thoughts or desires or those of the world. (direction)

but deliver us from evil; and Lord, when we stray and go against your word, please, keep us safe and bring us back. Let us be welcomed and kept safe, yet again. (comfort)

for Thine is the kingdom; Because I know I am not in charge. I belong to You Lord. Not like a mindless slave, but by choice. Yours. You called and I heeded. My choice, your decision. (ownership)

the power,; Nothing can separate us; nothing can prevent Your will; NOTHING can stand against you! (ability)

and the Glory,; All things are created by You, for a purpose, even those mosquitoes. No one is or ever will be as imaginative as You. You remember every detail, every part fits with none left over! (awesomeness)

forever,; We’ll never doubt; You are always there always watching, always waiting politely for us to come around. (NEVER ending)

Amen.; I trust and acknowledge my insignificance in the scheme of things. I hope I will do the part You have requested. Thank You.(trust)

Hannah’s Prayer (1 Samuel 2:1-10)

Generally assumed to be The Lord’s Prayer, or instruction on how to pray or ‘good’ prayer practise. It is (for me) a way of ‘seeing’ what is meant by learn the ‘mitre’ and the order of The Lord’s Prayer. With different words.

Then Hannah prayed and said:
“My heart rejoices in the Lord;
    in the Lord my horn is lifted high.
My mouth boasts over my enemies,
    for I delight in your deliverance.
“There is no one holy like the Lord;
    there is no one besides you;
    there is no Rock like our God.
“Do not keep talking so proudly
    or let your mouth speak such arrogance,
for the Lord is a God who knows,
    and by him deeds are weighed.
“The bows of the warriors are broken,
    but those who stumbled are armed with strength.
Those who were full hire themselves out for food,
    but those who were hungry hunger no more.
She who was barren has borne seven children,
    but she who has had many sons pines away.
“The Lord brings death and makes alive;
    he brings down to the grave and raises up.
The Lord sends poverty and wealth;
    he humbles and he exalts.
He raises the poor from the dust
    and lifts the needy from the ash heap;
he seats them with princes
    and has them inherit a throne of honour.
“For the foundations of the earth are the Lord’s;
    upon them he has set the world.
He will guard the feet of his saints,
    but the wicked will be silenced in darkness.
“It is not by strength that one prevails;
those who oppose the Lord will be shattered.
He will thunder against them from heaven;
    the Lord will judge the ends of the earth.
“He will give strength to his king
    and exalt the horn of his anointed.”

It doesn’t sound AT ALL like The Lord’s Prayer? Really? Try again.

*hugs*
luv khrys…

7 Responses to "Follow up from yesterday…"

Thanks for the ping back. This post is absolutely amazing. I learned about how the Lord’s Prayer is sort of like an outline from my youth pastor back in high school. I love how you used both Hannah’s prayer and the Lord’s Prayer. Awesome post!

Thank you! I must give credit to the Lord, I don’t think I had much to do with it… Isn’t it great to find that the Lord’s prayer can just lead us through what we can’t think of?! *hugs*… luv khrys…

Khrys, thank you so much this post, it’s wonderful, beautiful writing you are, GO!!!!! Wow, I love it thank you for the “Our Father,” definitions. That’s amazing they way your mind works your awesome LADY!!!! I would love to repost this on my page but how????

Reblogged this on Musings&Rants and commented:
Just amazing is all I can say!!!

[...] Follow up from yesterday… (khrystleraineduste.wordpress.com) [...]

[...] Follow up from yesterday… (khrystleraineduste.wordpress.com) [...]

Comments are closed.

Organised Chaos

The Archival Dungeon…

By entering your e-mail address you will receive a notification when I post a new blurb...

khrystle-raine

the inane ramblings of a disorganised mind...

You luv me...

  • 3,036 hugs

Still ain’t sure what this is?

Bright, shiny objects!

'Thinks' that catch my eye...

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Pastor's Ponderings

Finding our way back home

Corina Lăzărescu

Frânturi din viață...cu fotografii

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Well it's not as if you had anything better to do, so let me entertain you

Jennifer M Eaton

The Home of the Ranting Writer. “Learn from My Mistakes”

beebeesworld

sharing a world of ideas and topics

JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND

Sudden, unexplained, unattended death and a families search for answers

Percy Chattey: Writer

Author of Thrillers. Book Genre: Murder, Mystery & Crime

A Writer Inspired

for the writer with a life

Michelle Proulx -- The Website

Shameless self-promotion for my books, plus lots of awesome.

Adriana Cortazzo

Inside the mind of a yogi: from the sacred to the sublime

My Aspie Files

My Daily Thoughts about living Life on the Autism Spectrum

Glenda Mills

Hope For The Heart

Graphomaniac - Elizabeth West

On writing, editing and artistic generalities

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Cradle of Seats

whits and atoms of christian conversations

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

